Auto-Repair Tool

How to Disable Windows Media Player Sharing in Windows 8

Windows Media Player Sharing is a great feature but when it’s not needed it can be a needless waster of your device’s battery. Here’s how to disable it!

Windows Media Player is a great way to share your digital media with other people on your network. The advantage is that you can play your favourite music to your devices in your own home without connecting them to your laptop,PC or Tablet.

The disadvantage is that, for example, if you have a laptop or similar portable device, it drains your battery. It also shares your files to other users. If you don’t want that, follow these simple steps to disable Windows Media Player sharing in Windows 8.

1. Step

Open Control Panel. The easiest way to do is to right-click on what was formerly known as the Start button in the bottom left corner (now a hot corner), which allows you to switch between the Desktop and Start Screen.

Right clicking brings up a context menu with wide array of options. The Control Panel is the fifth from the bottom.

2. Step

Once you are in the Control Panel, click on Administrative Tools.

3. Step

From the list of Administrative Tools, click Service.

4. Step

Find the Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service in the list of available services. Stop the service, and then disable it by checking the box.

Windows-Media-Share-Disable

Another Method To Disable Windows Media Player Sharing

There is a second way to disable Windows Media Player sharing in Windows 8. This method may be easier if you are not as familiar with Windows 8.

1. Step

There is an arrow below the Library tab in Windows Media Player. Click on the arrow.

Windows-Media-Share-Disable1

2. Step

Click “Media Sharing.”

3. Step

After you click Media Sharing, you will see checkboxes next to “Share my media to” and “Find media that others are sharing.” Clear these checkboxes, and then click OK.

4. Step

You will be asked if you want to turn off sharing for other users. If you do not want to make changes for other users, click No. If you want to make changes for all users in your network, click Yes.

Alternative Solutions: Auto-Repair Your PC And Drivers

Still Having Trouble? Try TWEAKBIT FIXMYPC - FREE

Published: Monday, March 24th, 2014 Last Modified: March 28, 2014

Related Posts

Rate This Article
5 of 5 0 (100%) 2 votes